News from May 2016

Lenie Namatjira finalist at Telstra

Museum and Art Gallery of the Northern Territory announces finalists for the 33rd Telstra National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Art Award!

Congratulations to Lenie Namatjira!!!

Lenie Namatjira and Marisa Maher out at Ormiston Gorge

Seventy-five artists from 244 entries have been selected as finalists in the country’s most prestigious national Indigenous art award, the Telstra National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Art Award (NATSIAA).

The judging panel, which included Vernon Ah Kee, respected contemporary artist, Kimberley Moulton, Senior Curator, South Eastern Australia Aboriginal Collections, Museum Victoria and Don Whyte, Don Whyte Framing, were impressed with the quality and diversity of this year’s entries.

“We were provided with the breadth of what’s happening across Australia and the representation of country, culture, identity and politics is strong,” Ms. Moulton said.

Luke Scholes, Curator of Aboriginal Art and Material Culture, Museum and Art Gallery of the Northern Territory (MAGNT), said: “From what was an extremely competitive field, Vernon, Kimberley and Don have brought together a wonderfully eclectic assembly of finalists whose work will gather to create a spectacular exhibition to celebrate the MAGNT and Telstra partnership. We are extremely grateful for the support this prestigious award continues to receive from artists and art centres Australia wide.”

MAGNT Director, Marcus Schutenko said: “The selected works in this year’s Telstra NATSIAA have significant breadth in both form and content.”

Telstra Country Wide Area General Manager for the Northern Territory, Nic Danks, said the Telstra NATSIAA offers an exciting national platform for emerging and established artists
to showcase their culture and creative talents.

“Telstra is committed to ensuring Indigenous artists are discovered and have the opportunity to tell the important stories of Australia on a national scale,” Mr Danks said.

“This year marks the 25th anniversary of our partnership with MAGNT and we are proud to have had the opportunity to meet and profile so many talented artists over the years,” Mr Danks continued.

Finalists’ works will be exhibited at MAGNT from Friday 5 August 2016, where six winners will be announced at a special awards ceremony in the evening.

The categories for the 33rd Telstra NATSIAA are:

• Telstra Art Award – $50,000
• Telstra General Painting Award – $5,000
• Telstra Bark Painting Award – $5,000
• Telstra Work on Paper Award – $5,000
• Wandjuk Marika 3D Memorial Award (also sponsored by Telstra) – $5,000
• Telstra Youth Award – $5,000

About the Award
The 33rd Telstra National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Art Award marks the 25th year of the relationship between Telstra and the Museum and Art Gallery of the Northern Territory (MAGNT). The award was founded by MAGNT in 1984, and remains Australia’s first, most prestigious and longest-running award dedicated to Indigenous art and artists.

33rd Telstra National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Art Award
Saturday 6 August – Sunday 30 October
Curator: Luke Scholes
Judges: Vernon Ah Kee, Kimberley Moulton, Don Whyte

List of finalists
Alec Baker, Andrew Snelgar, Anwar Young, Baluka Maymuru, Barayuwa Munungurr, Barbara Mbitjana Moore, Beryl Jimmy, Betty Kuntiwa Pumani, Beyula Putungka Napanangka, Bianca Beetson, Brendan Kennedy, David Frank, Eunice Napanangka Jack, Eunice Porter, Georgia MacGuire, Glen (Kei Kalak) Mackie, Graham Badari, Gunybi Ganambarr, Guykuda Mununggurr, Harold Joseph Thomas (Bundoo), Isaac Cherel, Ishmael Marika, Jack Green, James Tylor, Janine McAullay Bott, Jennifer Herd, Jimmy Kenny Thaiday, John Mawurndjul, Kathleen Injiki Tjapalyi, Kaylene Whiskey, Kent Morris, Kieren Karritpul, Lena Yarinkura, Lenie Namatjira, Lisa Waup, Louise Daniels, Maath Maralngurra, Margaret Poulsen, Matjangka Nyukana Norris, Melanie Evans, Mumu Mike Williams, Muntaji Brumby, Naomi Hobson, Natalie Puantulura, Ngarralja Tommy May, Nici Cumpston, Nicole Monks, Nyapanyapa Yunupingu, Penny Evans, Pepai Jangala Carroll, Peter Waples-Crowe, Rachael Mipantjiti Lionel, Ray James Tjangala, Regina Pilawuk Wilson, Robert Pau, Ryan Presley, Seymour Wulida, Shirley Macnamara, Shirley Purdie, Simon Hogan, Spinifex Men’s Collaborative, Steaphan Paton, Stewart Hoosan, Ted Laxton [Pitcha Makin Fellas], Teresa Baker and Clarise Tunkin, Tiger Yaltangki, Tjanpi Desert Weavers, Tony Albert, Vincent Namatjira, Watarru Collaborative, William Nyaparu Gardiner, Winnie Sampi, Witjiti George, Wukun Wanambi, Yaritji Young & Yinarupa Nangala.

Newsletter May 2016

Read our news letter HERE !

Reinhold Inkamala, Wildlife at the West MacDonnell Ranges, NT

Open Day – Friday May 27th, 6pm

Open Day – This Friday May 27th, 6pm

Ngurratjuta Many Hands Art Centre will be holding an Open Day this Friday May 27th at 6pm. Artists will be on site to meet and greet.

The Art Centre with BIGhART, are also proud to present a special advanced Preview Screening of the Namatjira Project documentary.

There will be a post-screening Q&A, plus information about the Art Centre (Impending Incorporation) and Artists. Refreshments will be provided. New works from established and emerging artists will be on display and available for purchase.